Question about rack version upgrade

Hi,

TL;DR I’m hoping somebody can give me some general anecdotal guidance on how safe an upgrade from a 2 year old version of rack in production would be.

I’m a mostly-frontend dev who inherited a freelance project that was configured to run on convox ~2 years ago.

The project runs 4 apps on a convox rack that is currently at version 20181029123133. I have mostly spent time in 2 of these containers/apps, and have had no problem building and deploying changes over the past year+.

While I have a reasonable conceptual understanding of convox (enough to create a new gen-1 app last year, basic deploys/rollbacks/etc), I don’t have enough aws/infra expertise to confidently troubleshoot anything beyond the basics.

While trying to update and deploy one of the apps that hasn’t been touched in ~2 years, the build failed and rolled back with The runtime parameter of nodejs8.10 is no longer supported for creating or updating AWS Lambda functions.

I came across a community post [20191211175055] Lambda Node.js Upgrade which points to an AWS deprecation, and suggests to upgrade the rack version to address the underlying issue.

I’m intimidated to update my rack version since it’s currently quite far out of date from the current version. I honestly have very little idea how risky an upgrade like that would be.

I’m in a tricky position, because I’m looking to end my business commitment to this project. I need to update the app in question to finish off the work I committed to, but I’m concerned about a scenario in which upgrading the rack version takes down all the apps that are running on this rack (which are currently running in production without any issue).